Vision Care Product News

MAY 2017

Product information for optical people.

Issue link: http://vcpn.epubxp.com/i/821097

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 29 of 83

VisionCareProducts.com VCPN 28 May 2017 MICHELE SILVER: What is the unique perspective that you bring to your position? TOVE FRITZELL: I took a break halfway through my engineering master's degree to do a ski season in the French alps and ended up staying. Rather than going into the chemical industry, I picked up on an opportunity to join [Vista Outdoor]. I finished my master's thesis while I was skiing, cycling, climbing and running the POC flagship store in Chamonix. I soon joined the product development team, managing eyewear and hel- mets. So my unique perspective comes from three pair of eyes: the retail and customer service man- ager, the engineer/product man- ager and the skier-mountain biker/outdoor sports enthusiast. SILVER: What changes are you planning to make in terms of product offerings ? FRITZELL: The brand has been quick to adopt some of the most useful advancements in technolo- gy. An example of this would be the growing number of products in both the sunglass and goggle cate- gories equipped with photochro- mic Trivex lenses. In addition, we developed a new liner technology for our snow helmets, AViD, which uses an innovative mix of materials and manufacturing techniques. The helmet is impressively light and extremely well-ventilated for its demanding users who spend long days on the mountain. SILVER: What growth areas do you see in the sunglass and goggle market? Tove Fritzell, Bollé global product manager for Vista Outdoor , not only talks the talk but walks the walk. This outdoor sports fan—who has a mas- ter's degree in chemical engineering and industrial ecology from the Royal Institute of Technology in Stock- holm—joined the company this past January. She started her career in 2010 with POC, a Swedish-based sporting goods brand and worked her way up to products manager. He